Some Random Rhetorical Questions

My former pastor at Live Oak First Baptist, Gilbert Kendrick, made good use of rhetorical questions when I came to him for advice on my career or Christian walk. With this in mind, I have some rhetorical questions for my friends to ponder–questions I have sought the answers to for many years.

1) When is it time for a pastor or other full-time minister to move from one church to another?

2) Why does it seem to me that the only time churches take evangelism seriously is when a revival is scheduled?

3) Why is there more emphasis on the academic qualifications of ministers rather than the Biblical ones (1 Timothy 3:1-7 and Titus 1:5-9 stick out in this regard)? While I do value the importance of education, it is not feasible for me right now to enroll full-time in seminary. I am considering a myriad of online and extension classes, both for credit and audit, where I can become better equipped for the tasks God has for me.

and on a lighter note to end this post….

4)Will the Dallas Cowboys ever win a Super Bowl with Tony Romo as their quarterback?

Leave a Reply

