God, how are You working right now?

Mark 2:22(NASB)–“No one puts new wine into old wineskins; otherwise the wine will burst the skins, and the wine is lost and the skins as well; but one puts new wine into fresh wineskins.”

2 Corinthians 13:5 (NASB)–“Test yourselves to see if you are in the faith; examine yourselves!”

The late NFL coach George Allen had a motto when he took over the Washington Redskins in 1971–“The Future Is Now.” While coach Allen used that to stress winning today instead of building up a core team over time, I can relate that saying as well as these two verses to describe my attitude toward ministry. This has taken some prayer and meditation. For years I would say that I was licensed to the ministry in 1996, but now I have been convinced to look at my role in the Great Commission as more of what I can accomplish for the Kingdom now rather than what I have achieved in the past. I am convinced that my calling is moving away from traditional paradigms of ministry that I was exposed to 20-25-30 years ago.

How is God working in your life today as you consider how to live for Him? How do you view past certifications, degrees, licensing, ordination, et al, as you are carrying out the Great Commission today?

Leave a Reply

